Robertson, Oswalt & Associates
Call Today for consultation
501-588-4451 Or 866-311-3815

Review of Arkansas DWI laws; how an attorney can help

If a close examiner of drunk driving laws in Arkansas was asked to describe them in a single word, he or she might offer the term "exacting."

A number of other descriptions might also come readily to mind, including these: stringent, uncompromising -- even draconian.

Make no mistake about it: Arkansas' statutory scheme addressing DWI/DUI offenses is unquestionably harsh.

Here are some of the reasons why, as noted by a national organization that compiles DWI-related information:

  • Automatic 180-day license suspension for refusing to take a DWI blood or breath test, even for a first offense
  • Especially harsh exactions for commercially licensed drivers, even in instances where measured blood-alcohol content is below the standard 0.08 percent threshold
  • Mandatory reinstatement requirements (e.g., a course or treatment program)
  • Increased insurance premiums following an incident report

And, of course, the adverse fallout doesn't stop just there. Some motorists experience a social stigma related to their arrest. Absence from the workplace can result from jail time and court appearances. Every person arrested for DWI/DUI suffers a material blow to the pocketbook.

For those and additional reasons, many motorists seek help from an experienced and aggressive DWI defense attorney as soon as possible after an arrest.

Doing so can yield positive effects in the outcome of a drinking-related stop.

A police officer must have a valid reason -- probable cause -- for an initial stop, which a defense attorney will closely examine. Additionally, proven DWI counsel will always look carefully at any testing that was administered. Was the officer adequately trained to conduct field sobriety tests? Was all equipment used properly calibrated?

A number of other relevant issues might also surface focused upon proper procedure and additional matters.

Any Arkansas motorist with questions or concerns about a drunk driving stop can obtain prompt answers and strong representation from a seasoned Little Rock DWI defense attorney.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Four Convenient Little Rock Area Locations Call 501-588-4451 or 866-311-3815

Little Rock Office
1302 Cumberland Street
Little Rock, AR 72202

Toll Free: 866-311-3815
Phone: 501-588-4451
Little Rock Law Office Map

Benton Office
17724 I-30
Suite A4
Benton, AR 72019

Toll Free: 866-311-3815
Phone: 501-588-4451
Benton Law Office Map

Heber Springs Office
307 West Spring Street
Heber Springs, AR 72543

Toll Free: 866-311-3815
Phone: 501-588-4451
Heber Springs Law Office Map

Conway Office
1237 Front Street
Conway, AR 72032

Toll Free: 866-311-3815
Phone: 501-588-4451
Conway Law Office Map